Menu

Reviews from our travellers

Many of our travellers have had the journey of a lifetime with CultureRoad. On this page we list a variety of reviews.

Have you become enthusiastic after reading these reviews and would you like to book a trip with us? Feel free to request more information.

For more reviews please check our Google Reviews or Facebook Reviews.

What our travellers think

Luka Tavčar, Slovenia
Kurdistan Autumn Tour, October 2021

Thank you and guys for this amazig Iraqi Kurdistan adventure 

🙏
Souk in Erbil, Kurdistan, Iraq

Steve Homrich, United States
Grand Iraq Autumn Tour, October 2021

Great tour with wonderful memories. Loved it when the head of security at the mosque said “we’ve been watching you on camera and trying to figure out who you are!”  That’s when you know you’re off the beaten path of many westerners. It was fantastic to be welcomed in and even served tea!

Al Shaheed Monument in Baghdad, Iraq

Michael Holder, Australia
Carnaval in Angola Tour, February/March 2020

CultureRoad’s offering is to take travellers to some of the more logistically challenging and untouristed parts of the world. Rik, the founder of CultureRoad, led my exceptional and varied trip to Angola. The trip was well researched to provide a lot of highlights of the country in a reasonably short space of time; the trip was busy but without seeming rushed. The standard of accommodation was good, sometimes staying in the best hotel in the area. The food was a good mix of trying authentic local food and restaurants as well as the occasional relaxing and comforting meal and drinks in an upscale restaurant. Travelling with a small group of intrepid, likeminded people is a great way to learn not just about another culture but about ourselves. I am looking forward to travelling with Rik and Culture Road again soon.

Marc & Tim, Netherlands
Individual Tour Turkmenistan, October 2019

We went to Turkmenistan with CultureRoad. A perfectly tailor-made trip. Communication went very well and we always got a quick response. Rik made it an unforgettable journey. He provided a clear travel overview and extra information about the country and what to expect. When we arrived, we were received perfectly on time. Guide and driver were friendly, spoke good English, flexible, were still open to any changes in the itinerary and above all lots of laughs! All this for a competitive price. I can therefore recommend booking a trip via CultureRoad to anyone!

Tom Lelie
Individual tour Chernobyl, October 2019

The trip was great, something I have never seen and perhaps never will see again. Everything was well arranged and we had a great weekend with local guide Sergey. Thank you very much for this unforgettable trip and the good contact!

Traveller (male, 48 years old)
North Korea Group tour, October 2019

It was a super trip and I would very much recommend it!

Robin Aanhane, Netherlands
Soviet Europe Eastern Tour, November 2017

I was still a rookie when it comes to travelling and then travelling alone to a crazy country is quite exciting. The clarity and helpfulness of CultureRoad has taken most of this away. At the same time, the travel organisation with which they work is of great class. I’ve just returned but I’m already looking for my next trip.

Bruno van Moerkerken, Netherlands
Individual Turkmenistan Tour, October 2017

I travelled through Turkmenistan with a group of friends. CultureRoad knitted together the parts of the programme I wanted to see into a fantastic journey. Turkmenistan is an oasis of peace in Central Asia and there is a lot to see. The great thing is that there is hardly any tourism, so you are “alone” everywhere with

I travelled through Turkmenistan with a group of friends. CultureRoad knitted together the parts of the programme I wanted to see into a fantastic journey. Turkmenistan is an oasis of peace in Central Asia and there is a lot to see. The great thing is that there is hardly any tourism, so you are “alone” everywhere with your own group. The public space is so clean that you could eat from the ground.
Beverage is easily available and religion is dealt with in a relaxed way. And oh yes, large buildings are all lined with white marble. The country has enormous oil and gas reserves that make all this possible. Centrally located in the country is also the Gates of Hell, a crater where gas flows out that was lit for convenience a few decades ago. And we in the Netherlands are nagging about the pilot light that has to go out. I can advise anyone who thinks they have seen it all to go to Turkmenistan, because it is all completely different from anywhere else. It starts at the huge airport.


Michiel van Drunen, Netherlands
North Korea – Founding of the Party group tour, October 2017

It really was a very impressive journey! Beyond expectations.
Thank you very much for your fantastic organisation! Definitely worth repeating. Next time a new destination!

Freek-Jan Boomsma, Netherlands
North Korea – Founding of the Party group tour, October 2017

It was an unforgettable journey. Despite the fact that it is an insane country, we still have North Korea in our hearts. It is time to move on again, tomorrow we will leave Beijing for Vietnam.


Anna Klapwijk, Netherlands
North Korea – Founding of the Party group tour, October 2017

The trip to Korea was really insanely interesting! The perspective that most have is, logically, formed by the media. And while that is an important source of information, being somewhere yourself gives you very different ideas and impressions. Certainly with a controversial country like (North) Korea it is very valuable to experience this up close.
With 3 local guides, there is plenty of room to ask questions about their lives and perspectives. You come back with a much more nuanced picture. It is a very fascinating culture and beautiful country. In terms of organization it was super arranged, from hotels, transportation to an impressive and full program (+ delicious food, not entirely unimportant!). A very valuable holiday!

Martin Smolder, Netherlands
North Korea – National Day & Northeast Tour, September 2017

Just back from North Korea via CultureRoad. Met a lot of sweet, open people. Great guidance and amazing group. Also, with the local guides we had some informal hours of fun in the evening after the fascinating program. We enjoyed a beautiful ballet, music and singing performances from schools but also unexpected performances by waitresses in beautiful local costumes.
Also fascinating were the various museums, the capital Pyongyang with its quirky architecture and the amazing nature in the North of the country. We also stood in front of a class at a primary school to talk with Korean children in English about life there and in the Netherlands.
Of course, on Sunday afternoon in Moran Hill (park) we participated in the fun dance afternoon for the locals. Here inhabitants of Pyongyang dance together. We have travelled a lot and would not have wanted to miss this fascinating and wonderful experience.


Jos Kolenbrander, Netherlands
Afghanistan – group tour, May 2017

Had a great trip to Afghanistan with CultureRoad! Top work! Be sure to book with them even more often 🙂 🙂 In a word: great!

Jarno Bouius
North Korea – New Year’s Eve tour, January 2017

It was a unique experience and I will certainly not forget it. It was 5 full days which I enjoyed very much. I liked to see what daily life of North Koreans looks like. Especially in Pyongyang it’s actually quite normal, however outside the city you can see that it is not the most prosperous country because of the many cyclists and walkers.
The guides, both Western and North Korean, were really great and really make sure you have a good time. You can ask the local guides anything and they are also very open towards you. Highlight was New Year’s Eve on Kim Il Sung Square, watching the fireworks between the locals and wishing everyone a Happy New Year. I have no idea how this New Year’s Eve can be surpassed!
An additional advantage of a country without internet and telephone connections: no one is distracted by a telephone, so you really have a brilliant time with your guides and fellow travellers.

Lei Zhao, United States
Venezuela – group tour, April 2016

Rik and CultureRoad organize fun and well planned excursions. I have fond memories of our amazing trip through Venezuela.

COVID-19 update - Read more